Announcing the Winners of the 2018-2019 Dana Greenblatt Award

June 26, 2018
Dana Greenblatt Award winner announcement

The Dana Greenblatt Award is named for WGSS alumna Dana Greenblatt, and is annually awarded to chosen student and faculty applicants. In order to be considered, applicants must submit a narrative proposal of their research regarding feminist analysis and the production of cultural representations across visual media. Applicants can request a budget to accompany the award that is intended for continuing their academic research. This year, three applicants were chosen as recipients for the 2018-2019 award!

Caroline Angell is pursuing her MFA in Creative Writing and currently working on an experimental horror screenplay that chronicles the main character’s journey of healing from trauma. She plans to travel to Austria to intern with independent filmmaker James Quinn, and will assist him as he hosts the Steel City Underground Film Festival (SCUFF), which will screen a number of experimental horror films. Caroline will also be judging for festival submissions and shooting a proof-of-concept short for her screenplay to be later publicized.

Deja Beamon is a Ph.D. graduate student in the Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies department. Doing research on black/white biracial women identity, she plans to travel to Manhattan’s Museum of Modern Art to study the work of Adrian Piper, a conceptual artist known for manipulating space with her body and displaying the complexity of identity through her work. Deja hopes to use her work as a baseline and guide on how individuals maneuver being defined and redefining identities.

Our third winner, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Comparative Studies, will continue their project focusing on environmental history, local environmental justice, and community activism.

Congratulations to the winners this year! We wish you the best with your research!

MA student Caroline Angell  PhD Student Deja Beamon

To read more about the award, please visit the Dana Greenblatt Feminist Media Award page on our website.